The ICAEW Chartered Accountant qualification, the ACA, is one of the most advanced learning and professional development programmes available. It is valued around the world in business, practice and the public sector.

Minimum Entry Requirements

To start the ICAEW Qualification, any recognised degree awarded by a UK or Irish university or college, 3 GCSES at grades A-C and 2 A Levels (or equivalent qualifications).

Key Facts

Work experience - 450 days

You must complete 450 days of work experience, which normally takes between three and five years.

Number of exams
Up to 15, depending on exemptions.

How long does it take?
Three to four years on average.

What else is involved?
Ethics and Professional Skills module.

Qualification structure

You can view a diagram of the ICAEW qualification structure by clicking here.

Certificate level

- Accounting
- Assurance
- Management Information
- Business, Technology and Finance
- Principles of Taxation
- Law

Professional level

- Financial Accounting and Reporting
- Audit and Assurance
- Business Planning
- Tax Compliance
- Business Strategy and Technology
- Financial Management

Advanced level

- Corporate Reporting
- Strategic Business Management
- Case Study

Further information

To find out more please visit the ICAEW Website.

Start your journey today

Take your next step with ICAEW. Book your course today.

Book now >